The current town of St. Francisville was established on May 11, 1807 by John H. Johnson, and was originally known as the Villa of St. Francis. Also called “the town two miles long and two yards wide” because it was developed atop a narrow ridge overlooking the Mississippi River, it was at one time the largest antebellum Mississippi River port between New Orleans and Memphis, but was superseded by Natchez.
At the end of the American Revolutionary War, Great Britain ceded what it called West Florida to Spain in 1783, as part of the Treaty of Paris. There were years of contention as to exactly where the eastern boundary of the 1803 Louisiana Purchase was depending on which treaty was cited, as France, Great Britain, and Spain had redrawn the boundaries among themselves during the second half of the 18th century. Spain continued to claim territory on the eastern side of the Mississippi River until it and the United States settled this issue in the Pinckney Treaty. This region is today called the Florida Parishes.
Later in 1824, Feliciana Parish was split into East and West, and St. Francisville became the seat of West Feliciana Parish’s government.
- St. Francisville is one of the oldest town in the Florida Parishes
- West Feliciana Parish’s school system is ranked #1 in the state
- It’s Downtown District in it’s entirely id listed in the National Register of Historic Places
- St. Francisville is home to The Myrtles Plantation – known as the most haunted plantation is the country 👻
- It’s a part of the Louisiana Main Street Program – focuses on the revitalization of small communities
Explore St. Francisville:
Looking to move to West Feliciana? Here are homes currently for sale:
Leave a Reply